The First National Bank of McGehee was chartered in 1974 and has operated continuously in Desha County since its inception. The original Board of Directors, led by Henry Anthony, Chairman of the Board, and Carl Lucky, Jr., Vice Chairman of the Board, hired Fred Denton, to serve as the President/CEO, of the Bank.

Operations began in a trailer until a modern building was completed in February 1975. The new building was designed to meet the needs of the bank and the local community well into the twenty-first century. Two branches were later opened. Our Tillar Branch location was opened in 1983, which is now closed, and our FNB II location was built on Highway 65 in McGehee in 1997 and occupied in January 1998. 

In 2008 Fred Denton retired after 35 years of service as the Bank’s President. He was replaced by Jim Daniels, a McGehee native and Graduate of the University of Arkansas at Monticello, as the Bank’s second President. Being a community minded bank, the Board chose to convert to become a state charted bank in 2016. The decision allowed for the transition of bank oversight to the Arkansas State Bank Department. During this conversion process, the bank was renamed First NaturalState Bank.

In 2019, the bank expanded its operations to Dumas in order to better serve our valued customers in that area.  Though there have been changes to the Board, and to the Bank’s management, our primary mission is to serve the banking needs of McGehee, Dumas, and the surrounding areas, has not changed. Through the years, the bank has enjoyed a high level of support from Desha County.  This support has helped us to become a driving force in the local banking market.